- Advertisment -
HomeIndiaProtem Speaker Tripura to be sworn in by the Governor on Wednesday...

Protem Speaker Tripura to be sworn in by the Governor on WednesdayNews WAALI

- Advertisment -

News Waali latest news updates.

As the new BJP-led government settles in Tripura, Protem Speaker-designate Binoy Bhushan Das, elected from Panisagar constituency in North Tripura district, said on Tuesday that he would be sworn in by Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya at Raj Bhawan on Wednesday afternoon.

Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha, elected for a second term in the hot seat, was sworn in by the gubernatorial chief on March 8 along with other members of his cabinet in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah , BJP national president JP Nadda and others. Four of his cabinet colleagues are first term ministers.

Meanwhile, three berths in the state cabinet, which can have a maximum of 12 ministers, were kept vacant amid ongoing talks with Motha’s TIPRA party over their demand for a Constitutional solution for the tribes.

- Advertisement -

Speaking to indianexpress.com later this evening, the prospective Protem Speaker said that after his own swearing-in ceremony, lawmakers from the BJP and its ally IPFT, who would be members of the treasury benches, would be sworn in in by him in March. 16 in the national Assembly. The BJP currently has 32 MLAs in the 60-member Tripura Assembly while the IPFT has one MLA in the House.

As many as 11 members of the CPI(M) and three Congress legislators would be sworn in in the Speaker’s chamber on March 17. Thirteen Members of Parliament are from Motha’s TIPRA party, which is still in talks with the central and state governments regarding a constitutional solution because the tribals have so far maintained that they would not join the government in Tripura unless a permanent solution to alleviate the problems faced by the tribals is offered. They would also be sworn in along with Opposition Members of Parliament on March 17.

- Advertisement -

According to the current Assembly constitution, if TIPRA Motha decides not to join the state government for the time being, they would be the main Opposition political party in the Assembly instead of CPI(M).


- Advertisment -

Most Popular